Men's Hockey Leads The Way At A-Team Dinner

Men's Hockey Leads The Way At A-Team Dinner

On Thursday, April 20, Lake Forest College President Steve Schutt and Athletic Director Jackie Slaats hosted a dinner at Glen Rowan House to recognize this year’s “A-Team” honorees. The A-Team is comprised of student-athletes who received straight A’s in either the 2016 fall or 2016 spring semester.

A record-breaking 66 student-athletes were invited, compared to last year’s 57 honorees. Men’s hockey led the dinner with 13 attendees, which is approximately 45% of the team. The men’s hockey team not only experienced tremendous success in the classroom, but also on the ice. This past season the team tied the program record for conference victories and seniors Mark Esshaki, Jack Lewis, and Travis Hill were given the opportunity to compete at the professional level following the conclusion of the season.

Head men’s hockey coach Pat Kelliher mentioned that “to have so many men’s hockey players at the A-Team dinner was very special for our coaching staff.  We talk to our players, even when we first start recruiting them, about how we want student-athletes that compete on the ice and in the classroom, and over the years, our guys have done a tremendous job building a culture of hard work and dedication. Our team feels a responsibility to carry on the tradition of excellence that exists within the Lake Forest College Athletic Department and we are glad to be able to contribute to that tradition.”

Following men’s hockey, men’s soccer and football recorded the next-highest number with seven attendees each and then women’s cross country with six. With regards to the most-represented major, 20 students majored in finance while seven majored in business.

At the beginning of the dinner, remarks were given by President Schutt, who pointed out a couple other noteworthy statistics including the fact that every team had at least one representative present, which is not always the case. Additionally, of the 66 members, half were repeat attendees.

Kara Norvet, a repeat attendee and member of the women’s basketball team, commented that “Being part of the A-team dinner as a student-athlete means a lot more than just a fancy meal. Balancing academics and athletics is a constant battle that all of us athletes face. It requires excellent time management along with certain sacrifices, but having the opportunity to continue our passion for our respective sports is why we do it. Having an event dedicated to our success as students provides us with that sense of fulfillment that our peers often times receive (not to mention feeds our competitive spirit).”

Members of the A-Team include:

George Argiropoulos Men's Hockey Undecided
Phillip Aubert Men's Soccer Finance
Catherine Auger-Morin Women's Soccer Chemistry
Brittany Avonts Volleyball Neuroscience/Religion
Ariane Balaram Women's Cross Country Undecided
Kat Beall Softball Finance
Matt Black Men's Cross Country Business/Communication
Melissa Bodine Women's Hockey Chemistry
Emily Bowens Women's Swim & Dive
Amanda Brunges Women’s Hockey Biology
Nipun Chauhan Men's Soccer Finance
Edward Cleary Football Finance
Drew Cleereman Men's Hockey Finance
Michael Cole Football Business
Anthony Collado Men’s Handball Chemistry/International Relations
Jimmy Cusan Men’s Hockey Finance
Megan Dahlinger Softball Business/Sociology
Louis-Philippe De Courcy Men’s Hockey Finance
Davis DeKorte Men's Hockey/Men's Golf Finance
Zachary Feldman Men's Hockey Undecided
Lucas Geib Men's Soccer Undecided
Allie Girard Women's Hockey/Women's Golf Business
Salvador Gloria Men's Soccer Undecided
Tara Gloystein Women's Basketball Chemistry
Sophia Goss Women's Handball International Relations
Lindsay Hartup Women's Soccer Biology
Xavier Higa Men's Handball Computer Science
Carlos Izaguirre Werner Men’s Hockey Finance
Jordan Jacob Men's Swim & Dive
Grace Jacobson Women's Soccer Undecided
Travis Johnson Men's Swim & Dive
Ani Karagianis Women's Swim & Dive
Billy Kent Men's Hockey Business
Ryan Kruss Men's Hockey Finance 
Leo Lehto Men's Soccer Finance
Cassie Lira Women’s Cross Country Finance/Spanish
Bron Loiselle Men’s Hockey Finance 
Andrea Lorch Women's Cross Country International Relations/Religion 
Rebecca Lynch Volleyball Neurology 
Briana Majkowski Women’s Basketball Math  
Brendan McLane Men’s Soccer Finance 
Jennifer McTague Softball Environmental Studies/Economics 
Hector Mendoza Football Finance 
Julius-Pedro Muasau Football Undecided
Shawn Nelson Men’s Hockey Finance 
Kara Norvet Women's Basketball Finance 
Hannah O'Day Women's Basketball Business 
Tyler O'Neil Men’s Hockey Undecided 
Shelley Parat Women’s Cross Country Undecided 
Olivia Parrott Women's Cross Country Undecided
Brendan Power Football Business 
Charles Quinn Football Finance 
Cole Ragan-Scully Men's Swim & Dive
Izzy Regine Women’s Hockey Business 
Alejandro Rubalcaba Serrano Men's Soccer Business/Spanish 
Mike Rueffer Men's Basketball Finance 
Reed Scahill Men's Hockey Undecided 
Kirsten Slora Women's Cross Country Psychology 
Jacob Soyka Men's Golf Finance
Chandler Straw Men's Handball Undecided
Lucia Stumbras Women's Tennis Business
Rachel Tenuta Women's Soccer English
Lily Thorsen Women's Swim & Dive
Dragan Trivanovic Men's Tennis Economics
Kyra Vidas Women's Handball Business/Communication
Zach Wade Football Finance


Congratulations to this year’s A-Team!